Facebook Likes

England win first world title in limited overs cricket after 35 years of trying.

T20 world Cup 2010: England won the Twenty20 World Cup in magnificent style with a 111 run partnership from South Africa born batsmen Kevin Pietersen and Craig Kieswetter setting them up for a 7 wicket win over Australia on 16 May.
At a sun blessed Kensington Oval, England restricted Australia to 147/6 before knocking off the runs with little trouble to claim their first world title in limited overs cricket after 35 years of trying.
Paul Collingwood struck the winning runs with 18 balls to spare and his team raced on to the field to hug him in scenes of wild celebration.
David Hussey's intelligent 59 had helped Australia recover from a dreadful start where they lost their opening 3 wickets for just 8 runs.
Australia, the current 50 overs World Cup and Champions Trophy holders, were searching for a unique treble of T20 world titles.
Clarke's side were favourites but England responded well to losing opener Michael Lumb early, as Pietersen and Kieswetter set about destroying Australia's bowling.
Even when both lost their wickets, Eoin Morgan and Collingwood kept their nerve to steer England to glory without any of their customary nerves.
The impressive way in which Pietersen ( 47runs from 31balls ) and Kieswetter ( 63runs from 49balls ) went on the attack will be the enduring memory of this game.
But as Clarke said Australia had been at least 30 runs short of a score that would have really stretched England and it was the early bowling and fielding which set up the win for England.
The stuttering start began when Shane Watson was caught by Graeme Swann at slip off Ryan Side bottom after keeper Kieswetter had spilled the ball out.
Hard hitting left hander Dave Warner was then run out after a hesitant call from skipper Michael Clarke and then Brad Haddin was controversially ruled caught behind when replays showed Side bottom's leg side delivery brushed his hip.
After Clarke went, caught by Collingwood off the excellent Swann, Cameron White ( 30runs from 19balls ) and Hussey led the recovery with a 50 run partnership in 6.2 overs.
David Hussey had been dropped by Stuart Broad when on just 25runs but Broad made some amends by taking a fine catch to remove the dangerous White.
Mike Hussey joined his brother and the pair put on 47 runs from 22 balls but England's batsmen wiped out all that hard work with clinical ease.
In their barren years England lost three times in World Cup finals, in 1979, 1987 and 1992 and also were defeated on home soil in the 2004 Champions Trophy final.
England win first world title in limited overs cricket after 35 years of trying.


huda noor March 21, 2018 at 4:37 PM  

الاول افضل شركة تنظيف خزانات بالرياض تستخدم مادة الابوكسي في تنظيغ و تطهير خزنات مياه الشرب بارخص الاسعار يمكنك الاستعانة بنا في اعمال غسيل خزانات بالرياض لتحصل على افضل الخدمات
شركة الاول للخدمات

Post a Comment

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP